Bogobiri Sounds

Bogobiri open mic night is where it’s at on Thursday night in Lagos. Located on Maiatma Sule street in Ikoyi stands the building where all the music magic happens. Being the music enthusiast that I am, I didn’t know how to contain my excitement. I had heard so many things about this place, but hearing and seeing things for yourself is another story all together. The time is 7:20pm and my brother and I just got out of our trusted cab. The building is very afrocentric with a ton of masks, books and sculptures. It’s a lot to take in at once, but that’s not why I’m here so in the end who really cares? Inside of the building is a room partitioned into 2 with a bar at one end. My brother says the tiny room fills up fast, but we got there in good time to claim the front row seats saved by a long time friend of mine, Ngozi. See, Ngozi and I went to high school together so this day was already starting off right. We got the chance to catch up on life and friends and everything else in between. Meanwhile, the band finally showed up which got me even more excited. I LOOOOOOOVVVVEEEE live bands. As a performer, there’s nothing better than jamming with people who understand your music on a more intricate level. The riffs and runs are more than a wow factor and transform sound into a playground. The next time you go to listen to a band just watch out for the unspoken conversations happening through glares and smiles. Trust me, it’s an amazing experience.

The show finally starts with the MC, Lolo. Can I just say at this moment that her voice is FIRE!!!!! She also debuted her single which had a Mariah thing to it. No, not the range, I think it had something to do with the melody, but I definitely got some Mariah vibes. You can listen to some of her music over HERE in an interview she did with BellaNaija. She also sang about 3 other songs and then declared open mic night officially open. I had some favorites, but I forgot to write names down so for now, we will just talk about their music which is more important anyway right??? One of the musicians I remember well was an acoustic guitarist who did 2 contemporary gospel songs. I don’t know if people were aware of the lyrics being sung, but they were hype that’s for sure. I don’t blame them at all as this brother’s voice was like butter. I in turn jammed out and harmonized to the best of my ability. There was another singer/rapper who was just down right funny. Apparently, he is one of bogobiri’s favorite artistes. He sang/rapped to his #1 hit which was actually requested by one of the celebrants. Yup at Bogobiri, you get to request a song when it’s your birthday. Sad that my Birthday is in January maybe I can make a request online. Who knows?
I sadly didn’t perform even though I really wanted to. Let’s just say that I wanted to be an observer and get a hang of how things are run aka this is me making excuses. Not withstanding, I have planned to sing this Thursday. I’ll try to get my friends to record it if its good enough….At this time, it is safe to say that this has been my best day in Lagos so far.
5 thoughts on “Bogobiri Sounds

      1. I would love to, but I’m not in Nigeria at the moment. Also, I don’t live in Lagos, so I’m just a fan girl from afar! 🙂

Leave a Reply

